ESRL Quarterly Newsletter - Summer 2010

Achievement: Honors

Susan Solomon (Chemical Sciences Division, CSD) was one of two NOAA scientists named Service to America Medal finalists.

Solomon was selected for nearly three decades of influential scientific research with NOAA, including identifying the cause of the ozone hole and service as co-chair of Working Group I of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. Also a finalist is Joe Schaefer, retired Director of NOAA’s Storm Prediction Center. Winners will be announced in September.

Curtis Alexander, Ming Hu, and Tatiana Smirnova (Global Systems Division) were awarded a CIRES Bronze Medal in April for their roles in developing the first National Centers for Environmental Prediction operational radar reflectivity assimilation technique and improving convective storm forecasting.

Steve Peckham (GSD) received a CIRES Service Award for helping to develop and provide support to the complex modeling system, WRF-Chem (Weather Research and Forecasting-Chemistry). WRF-Chem allows research relevant to many current environmental challenges, including air quality and global climate change.

Solomon received an honorary Ph.D. from the Université Pierre et Marie Curie, the largest science and medical institution in France.

Solomon was also named as one of the 125 “Women who Changed our World,” by Good Housekeeping magazine. She was lauded alongside Rachel Carson, Jane Goodall, Barbara Walters, and Madeline Albright.

Valery Zavorotny (Physical Sciences Division) was selected as a 2009 Top Reviewer for IEEE Transactions on Geoscience and Remote Sensing.

Laurel Watts (CSD) is a finalist for graphical system design achievement award from National Instruments, for her design of the system that controls a new ozone instrument flown on this spring’s GloPac mission over the Pacific Ocean.  Award recipients will be announced in August.